Navigation Menu Overview
Find your way to what you need with Innoslate's Navigation Menu.
The black navigation bar, known as the Navigation Menu, is located at the top of Innoslate and is a consistent feature that provides easy access to other features within the application. It is the primary tool for navigating to Dashboards and Tools specific to your designated Innoslate Project. Whether you need to access project data, diagrams, documents, or test suites, the navigation bar is your gateway to efficiently maneuvering through the platform. Let's delve deeper into the functionality of this essential tool.
-
MENU Drop-down
The leftmost feature of the top navigation bar is the 'MENU' dropdown, providing easy access to essential links for navigating around Innoslate.

This dropdown contains menu items that users may click on to successfully navigate around Innoslate.
The links under the drop-down are arranged into three sections: General, Specialized, Tools and Quick Links.
Under the “General” section are navigational links to your project’s Dashboards like Database View, Diagrams Dashboard, Documents Dashboard, and Test Center.
Under the “Specialized” section are navigational links to tools within Innoslate like the DoDAF Dashboard, Intelligence Dashboard, GitHub Dashboard, UAF Dashboard and Project Management Dashboard.
Under the "Tools" section are the Import Analyzer and Schema Editor.
Under the 'Quick Links' section, the 'Digital Curation Station' link opens Innoslate’s Digital Curation Station, the 'Provide Feedback' link opens Innoslate’s Feedback Form Reference Archituectures, and the 'Resources' link sends you to our Resources page.
-
Pinned Links
To the immediate right of the items on this menu are pin buttons that allow users to pin desired views to the top navigation bar. By default, six items are pinned to the bar: Dashboard, Database, Diagrams, Documents, Text Center and Import Analyzer. You can also remove any of these views on the top navigation bar by clicking the pin. The pin will dissappear to confirm the view was removed from the top navigation bar. We recommend pinning the features of Innoslate you use most often for easy one-click access.

Note, you can rearrange the order of your pinned items by dragging and dropping them on the navigation bar:
Icons on the Right of the Navigation Bar

Located on the right side of the navigation bar, you'll discover icons that grant you access to a variety of additional features. Let's take a closer look at these functionalities.
Chat
Clicking the ‘Chat’ icon toggles the chat sidebar open and closed. You will find the chat sidebar fixed to the right of your browser window when it is open. The sidebar has 2 tabs to allow you to start a group chat and see which users are currently online:
To access point-to-point chat, click on the Online Users tab and select the user you'd like to individually chat with. A small window will pop up to the left of the chat sidebar for that dialogue:

⚠️Click on the Chat icon again to hide the chat sidebar.
Share Icon
Clicking the ‘Share’ button opens the ‘Share Project’ dialog. For more on Sharing your project, please click here.
Notifications
The bell icon alerts you to any updates or modifications made to the project by other users. When clicked, a dropdown menu will display information on the most recent changes that occurred.
Switch Projects Icon
The 'Switch Projects' icon in the menu dropdown allows you to switch between your existing projects organized by organization. In v4.14, you can now pin your favorite projects to the top for easier navigation.

You can also create a new project by clicking on the 'Create a New Project' link, access Project Version Control through the corresponding link, and manage your projects by clicking on the 'Manage Projects' link.
- AI Assistant: Start a conversation with a linked LLM.
- Innoslate Helpbot: Ask the Innoslate Helpbot how-to questions about using Innoslate.
- Contact Support: Submit a support ticket.
- Learning Hub: Open the SPEC Innovations Learning Hub.
- Help Center: Browse the Innoslate Help Center documentation.
Project Preferences
The Project Preferences icon is a dropdown that will access the following features:
-
Email Notifications (v4.15)
Choose which emails you receive about activity in your projects. You can set preferences once for your whole account, or fine-tune them for a specific organization or project.
Each level has an Inherit toggle. While it’s on, the notifications follows the shown Inherited preferences (system or organization). Turn it off to set custom user preferences for that project.
Notification types
| Notification | You’ll receive an email when... |
| Account | Account emails, such as password resets, are sent. This may/mayn not always be enabled and can’t be turned off. |
| Workflow transitions | An entity moves to a new status. |
| Change requests | A change request is raised, approved, or rejected. |
| Comments | A comment is added, resolved, reopened, edited, or deleted. |
| Entity changes | An entity is edited, locked, unlocked, deleted, or restored outside of a workflow transition. |
| Project shares | Someone shares a project with you. |
| Entity descriptions | Not a trigger. When selected, the entity description appears in the email itself instead of only a link to the entity. |
Be sure to select 'Save' after making your preferences.
-
'Clear Sessions' (clears your browser session and will incur a Browser dialogue telling you may lose unsaved work), and
-
'Clean Baselines' allows you to delete baselines and test cycles from the database after a Document or Test Suite has been deleted (v4.14).
Name Icon
The 'Name' icon is the right-most menu item of the top navigation bar. This dropdown is displayed as a green circle with your first name's initial. Clicking this dropdown allows you to access/update your browser theme, Innoslate user account profile, change your password, enable Two-Factor Authentication or sign out of Innoslate.

We highly recommend using the sign-out option to properly close your session, especially when releasing a floating license back to your organization. Please note that if you close your browser tab or window, a prompt will appear to warn you that unsaved work may be lost.
To continue learning about Navigating, Click Here.
(Next Article: Rich Text Format Features